Metallica Surprises Fans With Electric Set In Acoustic Livestream

via @Metallica | YouTube

Metallica’s Helping Hands concert and auction aired live from the band’s headquarters last Saturday, November 14, the band’s first worldwide pay-per-view event, from the platform.

The special acoustic concert began at 2:00 PM Pacific Time (4:00 PM Central Mexico Time) in support of their All Within My Hands foundation.

The band performed an eight-track acoustic set followed by a surprise six-track full-power electric set.

“We’re super-grateful to be a part of this, and glad you’re here to witness it and be a part of it as well,” frontman James Hetfield stated. “All your help is very much appreciated. And the fact that we get to play [is] a big bonus, right? We get to play, we get to employ some people here, we get to help out – it’s a win-win-win everywhere.”

The setlist included songs like ‘Blackened’, ‘Creeping Death’, ‘The Unforgiven’, ‘Now That We’re Dead’, ‘Nothing Else Matters’,’ All Within My Hands’ and some covers such as: ‘When a Blind Man Cries’ (Deep Purple) and ‘Turn the Page’ (Bob Seger). On the remake of ‘Disposable Heroes’, James Hetfield described it as “a heavy song that we did on acoustics, and we’re making it heavy in the way of the acoustic version.”

Check out the full performance below, along with the setlist:

01. ‘Blackened’
02. ‘Creeping Death’
03. ‘When a Blind Man Cries’ (Deep Purple)
04. ‘The Unforgiven’
05. ‘Now That We’re Dead’
06. ‘Turn the Page’ (Bob Seger)
07. ‘Nothing Else Matters’
08. ‘All Within My Hands’
09. ‘Disposable Heroes’
10. ‘The House of the Rising Sun’
11. ‘Wasting My Hate’
12. ‘For Whom the Bell Tolls’
13. ‘Master of Puppets’
14. ‘Enter Sandman’