Relive AC/DC Songs Written By Bon Scott

via @acdcfanai | Instagram

It was Bon Scott who penned most of the AC/DC songs that put them in the limelight. His wittiness, antics, humorous poetry, and of course, his singing made him the singer that we loved – a frontman who deserves to be adored and beloved. 

Relive AC/DC Songs Written By Bon Scott below:

7. The Jack

If you’re wondering what this song is all about, it’s not about the card game. The meaning of the song is one of the worst kept secrets in the history of rock music – and according to some theory the lyrics are about women that gave AC/DC their “clap.” Included on their album High Voltage which was released in 1976 in the US.


6. Let There Be Rock

Bon Scott’s own version of the Bible. He tells the gospel of rock and its birth: “There were 15 million fingers / Learnin’ how to play / And you could hear the fingers pickin’ / And this is what they had to say… LET THERE BE ROCK!” Included on their album of the same name, Let There Be Rock which was released in 1977.


5. T.N.T.

This song is evidence that Bon Scott can be a “BADASS” from time to time. Hear that opening growl? “Oi! Oi! Oi!” that’s Bon Scott telling the audience that they can be “BADASSES too if they sing along with him. Included on the album, High Voltage, released in 1976 in the US. 


4. Whole Lotta Rosie

The most honest and one of Bon Scott’s best-penned lyrics of all time. It’s about “a whole lotta woman,” and they even made a doll of Rosie who still joins them onstage even when Bon was long gone. Included on the album, Let There Be Rock, released in 1977.


3. It’s A Long Way to the Top (If You Wanna Rock and Roll)

The song that pissed our parents off, but guess what, we’re still gonna crank up the volume no matter who’s gonna get angry every time we play this song. That bagpipes! Deserves to be heard all across the neighborhood. Include on the album, High Voltage, released in 1976 in the US.


2. Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap

Bon Scott loves cartoons, Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap is a reference from a cartoon called Beany and Cecil — Dishonest John is one of the characters who always carry a business card that read, “Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap.” The song was recorded as the title track for their album, Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap, released in September 1976.


1. Highway To Hell

The best of the best! Bon Scott’s final offering for his final album of the same name — the anthem of every rock n’ rollers! How can you not love these lines, “Hey momma, look at me! / I’m on my way to the promised land …” The song was recorded as the title track for their album, Highway to Hell, released in 1979 before Bon Scott’s death a year later.